Home | Most Recognized Novel List | Top 3 Stand Out Novels | Sources

An objective analysis resulting in a list of the most recognized novels published in the English language from 1918 - 1990, a starting-point for readers to approach a well-read status.

Nobel Prize

Nobel Prize 1

On 27 November 1895, Alfred Nobel signed his last will and testament, giving the largest share of his fortune to a series of prizes, the Nobel Prizes. As described in Nobel's will one part was dedicated to
“the person who shall have produced in the field of literature the most outstanding work in an ideal
direction”. The Swedish Academy is responsible for the selection of the Nobel Laureates in Literature, and has 18 members. The Nobel Committee for Literature is the working body that evaluates the nominations and presents its recommendations to the Swedish Academy, and comprises four to five members.

The candidates eligible for the Literature Prize are those nominated by qualified persons who have
received an invitation from the Nobel Committee to submit names for consideration. Other persons who are qualified to nominate but have not received invitations may also submit nominations. No one can nominate himself or herself.

The statutes of the Nobel Foundation restrict disclosure of information about the nominations, whether publicly or privately, for 50 years. The restriction concerns the nominees and nominators, as well as investigations and opinions related to the award of a prize.

The Nobel Prize Award Ceremony and the NobelBanquet 2

Since 1901, the Nobel Prizes have been presented to the Laureates at ceremonies on 10 December, the anniversary of Alfred Nobel's death. As stipulated in the will of the Swedish-born inventor and international industrialist Alfred Nobel, which was opened after his death in 1896, the Nobel Prizes in Literature is awarded in Stockholm, Sweden. The Prize Award Ceremony in Stockholm has, almost without exception, taken place at the Stockholm Concert Hall (Stockholms Konserthus) since 1926.

Since the Nobel Prize is regarded by far as the most prestigious prize in the world, the Award Ceremonies as well as the Banquets in Stockholm on 10 December have been transformed from a local Swedish arrangement into a major international event that receives worldwide coverage by the print media, radio and television.

Below is a brief description of the process involved in choosing the Nobel Laureates in Literature: 3

– Nomination forms are sent out. The Nobel Committee sends out invitation letters to 600-
700 individuals and organizations qualified to nominate for the Nobel Prize in Literature.

– Deadline for submission. The completed forms must reach the Nobel Committee not later
than 31 January of the following year. The Committee then screens the nominations and submits a list
for approval by the Academy.

April – Preliminary candidates. After further studies, the Committee selects 15–20 names for
consideration as preliminary candidates by the Academy.

May – Final candidates. The Committee whittles down the list to five priority candidates to be
considered by the Academy.

June-August – Reading of productions. The members of the Academy read and assess the work of the
final candidates during the summer. The Nobel Committee also prepares individual reports.

September – Academy members confer. Having read the work of the final candidates, members of the
Academy discuss the merits of the different candidates' contribution.

– Nobel Laureates are chosen. In early October, the Academy chooses the Nobel Laureate in
Literature. A candidate must receive more than half of the votes cast. The Nobel Laureates names are
then announced.

– Nobel Laureates receive their prize. The Nobel Prize Award Ceremony takes place on 10
December in Stockholm, where the Nobel Laureates receive their Nobel Prize, which consists of a Nobel
Medal and Diploma, and a document confirming the prize amount.

The right to submit proposals for the Nobel Prize in Literature shall, by statute, be enjoyed by: 4

  • Members of the Swedish Academy and of other academies, institutions and societies which are similar to it in construction and purpose;
  • Professors of literature and of linguistics at universities and university colleges;
  • Previous Nobel Prize Laureates in Literature;
  • Presidents of those societies of authors that are representative of the literary production in their respective countries.

  • Nobel Prizes in Literature

    The Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded 102 times to 106 Nobel Laureates between 1901 and 2009. Below are the Nobel Prizes awarded from 1918 - 1990 that were considered in the Myjak Novel Analysis:

    Year Author
    1918 Not Awarded
    1919 Spitteler, Carl Friedrich Georg
    1920 Hamsun, Knut Pedersen
    1921 France, Anatole
    1922 Benavente, Jacinto
    1923 Yeats, William Butler
    1924 Reymont, Wladyslaw Stanislaw
    1925 Shaw, George Bernard
    1926 Deledda, Grazia
    1927 Bergson, Henri
    1928 Undset, Sigrid
    1929 Mann, Thomas
    1930 Lewis, Sinclair
    1931 Karlfeldt, Erik Axel
    1932 Galsworthy, John
    1933 Bunin, Ivan Alekseyevich
    1934 Pirandello, Luigi
    1936 O'neill, Eugene Gladstone
    1937 Gard, Roger Martin Du
    1938 Buck, Pearl
    1939 Sillanpaa, Frans Eemil
    1944 Jensen, Johannes Vilhelm
    1945 Mistral, Gabriela
    1946 Hesse, Hermann
    1947 Gide, Andre Paul Guillaume
    1948 Eliot, Thomas Stearns
    1949 Faulkner, William
    1950 Russell, Earl Bertrand Arthur William
    1951 Lagerkvist, Par Fabian
    1952 Mauriac, Francois
    1953 Churchill, Sir Winston Leonard Spencer
    1954 Hemingway, Ernest Miller
    1955 Laxness, Halldor Kiljan
    1956 Jimenez, Juan Ramon
    1957 Camus, Albert
    1958 Pasternak, Boris Leonidovich
    1959 Quasimodo, Salvatore
    1960 Perse, Saint-john
    1961 Andriic, Ivo
    1962 Steinbeck, John
    1963 Seferis, Giorgos
    1964 Sartre, Jean-Paul
    1965 Sholokhov, Michail Aleksandrovich
    1966 Agnon, Shmuel Yosef
    1966 Sachs, Nelly
    1967 Asturias, Miguel Angel
    1968 Kawabata, Yasunari
    1969 Beckett, Samuel
    1970 Solzhenitsyn, Aleksandr Isaevich
    1971 Neruda, Pablo
    1972 Boell, Heinrich
    1973 White, Patrick
    1974 Johnson, Eyvind
    1974 Martinson, Harry
    1975 Montale, Eugenio
    1976 Bellow, Saul
    1977 Aleixandre, Vicente
    1978 Singer, Isaac Bashevis
    1979 Elytis, Odysseus
    1980 Milosz, Czeslaw
    1981 Canetti, Elias
    1982 Garcia Marquez, Gabriel
    1983 Golding, Sir William
    1984 Seifert, Jaroslav
    1985 Simon, Claude
    1986 Soyinka, Wole
    1987 Brodsky, Joseph
    1988 Mahfouz, Naguib
    1989 Cela, Camilo Jose
    1990 Paz, Octavio

    The following are the sources of the information presented above:

    1 The Official Web Site of the Nobel Foundation. Facts on the Nobel Prize in Literature.
    (October 5, 2009) : Internet.

    2 The Official Web Site of the Nobel Foundation. The Nobel Prize Award Ceremony and the NobelBanquet.
    (2010) : Internet. http://nobelprize.org/award_ceremonies/history.html

    3 The Official Web Site of the Nobel Foundation. Process of Nomination and Selection.
    (2010) : Internet.

    4 The Official Web Site of the Nobel Foundation. Qualified Nominators.
    (2010) : Internet.

    5 The Official Web Site of the Nobel Foundation. All Nobel Prizes in Literature
    (2010) : Internet.